An Open Letter To Molly Alexander

– Version française en bas. –

Molly Alexander is the candidate with Quebec Solidaire in my local riding of Saint-Henri Sainte-Anne, running for a seat in the National Assembly in the upcoming Quebec election. If you share these views, I encourage you to write a letter to your own candidate, or feel free to use this one as a template. 

Friday, April 4, 2014

Dear Ms. Alexander,

I am a constituent in the riding in which you are running as a candidate representing Quebec Solidaire, and I am writing to share my views with you on an issue that is of importance to me.

I would like to begin by stating that I am glad to have a candidate on my ballot whose views and politics so closely resemble mine, and who is both open to feedback and informed on matters that concern the advancement of our society. You are very much a progressive and a critical thinker – two qualities that I value in political representatives – and there isn’t a candidate who I would rather see represent me and my fellow constituents in the National Assembly.

Regretfully, your party has adopted a policy which is of grave concern to me. Following the recommendations of the Bouchard-Taylor Commission, Quebec Solidaire’s platform includes a proposal to ban the wearing of religious icons of civil servants in positions of coercive authority (this would include police). I understand that this was the topic of heated debate, and the decision reached by the party is not supported unanimously. However, religious expression is a fundamental freedom and I consider it to be extremely troubling that the party would even consider that this is something that can be voted on.

Rights and freedoms do not exist because we make laws that guarantee them. Rights and freedoms are inherent, and without laws to protect them, our rights and freedoms become threatened. A vision of a secular state that would restrict the fundamental freedoms of religious minorities is not a vision that I can support. A truly secular state would be pluralist and allow for expressions of faith from any and all religions.

I understand that there are people within the party who share my views, and I laud them for the work that they will no doubt do to eliminate this regressive and racist policy from within the party itself.

Personally I cannot, in good conscience, vote for a party in the hopes that it will eventually change. My vote would be a tacit acceptance of a policy that I find egregious. Instead, I will be effectively spoiling my ballot (by voting for Parti Nul) and hoping that Quebec Solidaire will have addressed this issue before the next provincial election.

Best regards and good luck in your campaign,
Shayne Gryn

* * *

Vendredi le 4 Avril 2014

Chère Mme Alexander,

Je suis un électeur de la circonscription dans laquelle vous vous présentez pour Québec Solidaire, et je vous écris pour vous faire part de mon point de vue concernant une question qui me tient à cœur.

Pour commencer, j’aimerais vous dire que je suis ravi d’avoir la possibilité d’élire une candidate dont les opinions et idées politiques ressemblent autant aux miens, ouverte à la rétroaction, et bien informée sur des sujets qui concernent l’avancement de notre société. Vous êtes très progressiste et vous avez un esprit critique (deux qualités que je considère importantes chez un représentant politique), et il n’y a aucun candidat que j’aimerais mieux voir nous représenter à l’Assemblée nationale.

Malheureusement, votre parti a adopté une politique qui me préoccupe au plus haut point. Suivant les recommandations de la Commission Bouchard-Taylor, la plate-forme de Québec Solidaire propose d’interdire le port de signes religieux pour les personnes jouant un rôle coercitif au nom de l’État (incluant les policiers). Je reconnais que ce projet a été l’objet de débats houleux, et que la décision prise par votre parti n’y fait pas l’unanimité. Mais l’expression de sa croyance religieuse est une liberté fondamentale, et je trouve cela extrêmement troublant que votre parti puisse même envisager de tenir un vote sur cette question.

Les droits et les libertés n’existent pas parce que nous faisons les lois pour les garantir. Les droits et les libertés sont inaliénables, et sans législation pour les protéger, nos droits et nos libertés sont menacés. Je ne partage pas la vision d’un état laïque qui brimerait les libertés fondamentales des minorités religieuses. Un état véritablement laïque serait pluraliste et permettrait l’expression de foi de toutes les religions.

Je reconnais qu’il y a des gens à l’intérieur du parti qui partagent mes opinions, et j’applaudis le travail qu’ils feront assurément pour éliminer cette politique régressive et raciste du parti.

Pour ma part, je ne peux pas en toute conscience voter pour un parti en espérant qu’il finira par changer. Ce serait un vote tacite pour une politique que je trouve odieuse. Au lieu de cela, je vais annuler mon vote (en votant pour le Parti Nul) et espérer que Québec Solidaire aura réglé ce problème avant les prochaines élections provinciales.

Meilleures salutations, et bonne fin de campagne.

Shayne Gryn

Leave a Reply

